President’s Merit Scholarship 2017-18

The Institute of Business Management (IoBM) held the “President’s Merit Scholarship 2017-18” distribution ceremony on Saturday, February 10, 2018, at the Entrepreneurship and Management Excellence Center (EMEC), IoBM. Invited to this occasion as Chief Guest was Mr. Bashir Janmohammed, Chancellor, IoBM. Present at this event were IoBM’s Mr. Talib Karim, President and Ms. Sabina Mohsin, Executive Director, Admissions, Administration and Finance. The ceremony was largely-attended by students receiving scholarships, their parents, IoBM’s Deans, HoDs, faculty and management. The MC for this program was Ms. Misbah Iqbal, IoBM alumnus and currently Senior Lecturer in Accounting and Finance and Coordinator, BS-Social Entrepreneurship and Social Leadership program at IoBM.

During his address, Mr. Talib Karim welcomed proud parents and emphasized that their children are fortunate to have earned this distinction out of nearly 4500 students studying at IoBM. He was pleased to share that these meritorious students have been enjoying a balance between academic and extra-curricular activities which will eventually define their personality. Mr. Talib Karim said that the President’s Merit Scholarships were initiated three years ago by the Late Founder President of IoBM, Mr. Shahjehan Syed Karim upon the advice of the Chancellor. Furthermore, Mr. Talib Karim elucidated upon the many challenges facing Pakistan including social problems and security threat. He said that as parents and as educators it is their responsibility to put the youth on the right path. He advised the meritorious students to keep an eye on campus activities and ensure their friends are not harboring extremist thoughts. He was hopeful that the youth of Pakistan is its future who can take this country forward. The President also highlighted that this country must provide pertinent avenues for the youth so that they can serve Pakistan following their graduation. He was optimistic that there is no stopping Pakistanis from becoming one of the best nations in the world. In conclusion, he advised students to be proud of themselves and to be proud of their alma mater. Mr. Talib Karim also shared details of IoBM’s Outreach Program and commended the instrumental role of Mr. Bashir Janmohammed in this regard, especially the Rupees 50 Million he donated to IoBM last year.

While speaking at this auspicious occasion, Mr. Bashir Janmohammed congratulated the students and viewed their academic achievement was not possible without the support and love of their parents and faculty. Mr. Bashir shared the role and efforts of IoBM’s Late Founder President Mr. Shahjehan Syed Karim, current President, Mr. Talib Karim and Executive Director, Ms. Sabina Mohsin in creating IoBM a distinguished business management institute that does not deprive anyone from receiving education. Mr. Bashir Janmohammed said the meritorious students receiving the President’s Merit Scholarships are eligible for all jobs across Pakistan for they have maintained a CGPA of 3.69 or above. He further said that students receiving these Scholarships are the privileged ones as 90% of Pakistan’s population cannot afford higher education. While commenting on IoBM’s Endowment Fund, Mr. Bashir said that IoBM is providing need-based scholarship to 12% of its students and 99% of cases are approved. Moreover, he advised students to develop a reading habit, realize the value of life and work for the betterment of Pakistan.

IoBM President’s Merit Scholarship 2017-18 were awarded as follows: BBA (Honors): Mehermah Shafat, Niha Fatima, Muneeba Hamid, Midhat Ayub, Ausaf Ali Jokhio, Sana Ahmed Alvi and Fariha Mansoor. BS (AS and RM): Muzammil Ahmed, Yumna Fatima Ahmed, Murtaza Dhirani, Muhammad Umar and Areesha. BS (Joint Honors): Asra Khan, Amna Badar, Nirmal Khowaja, Ayesha Nasir and Farah Ahmad. BS (Accountancy Mgmt. and Law): Sohira Ahsan. Abdul Muqeet, Zaeemah Muhammad Idris, Syed Hasan Moazzam Rizvi and Maniha Zainab. BS (Mathematics and Economics): Syeda Laila Shehzad Naqvi. BS (Social Entrepreneurship and Leadership): Abdul Muizz. MBA (Regular) Evening: Jonelle Fernandes, Safia Mumtaz. MBA (Weekend): Hasnain Raza. MS (Engineering Management): Aman Sharif. Two students received a Letter of Appreciation and a cheque of Rs. 25,000 from Mr. Muhammad Zubair, Governor Sindh. These students were: Sarah Yousuf, Gold Medalist at IoBM Convocation 2017 (MBA – Supply Chain Management) and Hafiza Huma Ameen, Gold Medalist at IoBM Convocation 2017 (MBA-Regular Evening).