IoBM hosts first-ever Futsal Tournament

A blend of hospitality and sportsmanship

The hallmarks of the “1st IoBM Inter-Collegiate/University Futsal Tournament” were the representation of as many as 16 College/University Futsal teams, IoBM traditional welcome and hospitality for the participating guests, and the kind and inspiring presence of Ms. Sabina Mohsin, Executive Director, Administration, Admissions and Finance, IoBM. The sharing of mutual respect, goodwill and cheerfulness and a harmonious blend of participants’ sportsmanship, skill, speed and staminaThe winner of this tournament was SZABIST Team ‘A’ who defeated Rayden College (4-3).     

The Department of Sports and Student Affairs at the Institute of Business Management (IoBM) organized the “1st IoBM Inter-Collegiate/University Futsal Tournament” on November 22-23, 2018. Present at the inauguration ceremony were Dr. Ejaz Ahmed, Rector and Dean, College of Computer Science and Information System (CCSIS), IoBM, Mr. Riaz Akbar Contractor, Proctor, Manager Sports and Student Affairs along with participating players of Futsal Tournament 2018 and office bearers of the Sports and Student Affairs Department.
As many as 16 College/University Futsal Teams including 2 IoBM Teams and Creek College participated in the Tournament. These teams were divided into four groups as: Group A: Institute of Business Administration, Bahria University (Karachi Campus), PAF-KIET, Habib University. Group B: Ziauddin University, DHA Suffa University, Indus University and Scepter College. Group C: IoBM Team ‘A’, SZABIST Team ‘B’, Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology and Creek College. Group D: IoBM Team ‘B’, SZABIST Team ‘A”, Rayden College and Barret Hodgson University. The Tournament progressed through round matches, quarterfinals, semi-finals and the final match, which was played on Friday, November 23, 2018.

The results of this tournament were as follows:

Quarters and Semi-Final Results


Habib vs Rayden: Rayden Won

Bahria vs Szabist: Szabist won

IoBM A vs Ziauddin: IoBM A walkover given.

Szabist B vs DHA Suffa: Szabist B won


IoBM A vs Rayden:(1-1) Rayden won on penalties (2-3)

Szabist A vs Szabist B: Szabist A won on Penalties (3-2)


SZABIST ‘A’ vs Rayden College

SZABIST ‘A’ won by 4-3

After a brilliant display of skill and resilience against an equally superb team, SZABIST ‘A’ TEAM  clinched the Futsal trophy by defeating their opponents 4-3.

Best Player: Shariq Khattak Szabist A ( Scored 7 goals and 2 assists)

Best Goal keeper: Ibrahim Karimi IoBM A (Most clean sheets)