IoBM echoes with SKDC 2018

The Literary and Public Speaking Society (LPSS), at the Institute of Business Management (IoBM) organized the second edition of the Shahjehan S. Karim Declamation Contest (SKDC) 2018, on October 24, 2018 at the IoBM Auditorium.

Present on behalf of Ms. Sabina Mohsin, Executive Director, Administration, Admission and Finance, IoBM was Mr. Muhammad Misbahuddin, Advisor to ED on HR, Purchase and Administration. Also present were Dr. Mehvish Saleem, HoD, Communication Department, Mr. Muhammad Irfan Sheikh, Assistant Professor, Communication Department and Faculty Advisor, LPSS and Mr. Riaz Akbar Contractor, Proctor, Manager Sports and Student Affairs along with students. Also present were office bearers of LPSS including Areebah Azam, President, Talal Osama, Executive Vice President, Maha Ahmed, Vice President, Bilal Mustafa, Finance Secretary, Ahmed Farooq, General Secretary and Komal Khan, General Secretary.

While the Guest of Honor of the SKDC 2018 was Mr. Adnan Akhtar, Founder, Karachi Speech and Declamation Society (KSDS) the judges for English declamation were Mr. Umer Ali Kazimi, MIS Manager, Habib Bank Limited (HBL) and Ms. Noor Us Sabah Tauqeer, a prolific public speaker. Judges for Urdu declamation were Mr. Mohammad Abid Ali Umang, Co-Founder, Pakistan Debate Council, Mr. Raheel Akhtar, Entrepreneur and Public Speaker and Mr. Mudasser Iqbal, Anchorperson, BOL TV.

Invited to participate at this bilingual Declamation Contest were students from Government National College, PAK-KIET, Jinnah Sindh Medical University, University of Karachi, NED University of Engineering and Technology, Umaer Basha Institute of Information and Technology, Greenwich University, ARTT Business School, Habib University, Barret Hodgson University, SZABIST, Dawood University of Engineering and Technology, DOW University of Health Sciences, Iqra University, Institute of Business Management (IoBM), Alpha College, Tabani’s School of Accountancy, Tabani’s College and L2L Academy.

The winners of the declamation contest in English were: For Serious Category: Zaigham from Tabani’s School of Accountancy (1st Place), Moomal Aziz Khan, University of Karachi (2nd Place) and Anas Pasha, IoBM (3rd Place). For English Humorous Category: Hafsa Tahir, University of Karachi (1st Place), Amna, University of Karachi (2nd Place) and Hammad Mukhtar, Habib University (3rd Place).   

The winners of the declamation contest in Urdu were: For Serious Category: Fizza Abbas, Habib University (1st Place), Arsalan Shariq, NED University (2nd Place) and Junaid Mumtaz, University of Karachi (3rd Place). For Humorous Category: Balaj Anwar, Tabani’s School of Accountancy (1st Place), Suleman Arif, University of Karachi (2nd Place) and Abdul Aziz Essa, NED University, (3rd Place).  The team trophies were awarded to: Tabani’s School of Accountancy (1st Place), University of Karachi (2nd Place) and Habib University (3rd Place).   

Parvez Jamil – 021-35091905, 111-002-004, ext. 334 – Cell: 0334-3013971, 0324-2899563 –